Coming Soon ...

 US Lacrosse will accept nominations beginning in spring 2013 for the 2013 Gerald J. Carroll, Jr. Exemplary Coaching Award, established in memory of Gerry Carroll. Coach Carroll spent a good part of his brief 46 years playing and coaching lacrosse. Greater than his love for the sport, however, was his commitment to give back to the young, and the lifetime of lessons he took from the game.

The Carroll Award, given annually to one boys' high school coach nationwide, measures the success of a coach not in victories but in the care and guidance given to the balanced development of young men who play the game.

Nominees must demonstrate support and care for players in their growth and development as young adults and leaders on and off the playing field. Nominees must be members in good standing of US Lacrosse.

US Lacrosse will accept nominations April 15 through August 1, 2013.
All nominations should be sent to US Lacrosse and should be submitted with the following:


  • Name, school and contact information of nominee
  • Nominee's lacrosse resume
  • Two letters of recommendations from individuals other than family members


The recipient is chosen by a committee comprised of Carroll friends and family. The award is annually presented at the US Lacrosse National Convention. The 2012 recipient, Mike Jolly, received a plaque and his name will be added to the sculpture trophy displayed at the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame.

 Nomination Form

Nominations should be submitted to:

US Lacrosse 
c/o Brian McGettigan
Men’s Game Manager 
113 West University Parkway 
Baltimore, MD 21210
Fax: 410-366-6735 

Past Recipients
1994 – Mike Messere, West Genesee High School, Camillus, N.Y.
1996 – Tom Hall, Fayetteville Manlius High School, Fayetteville, N.Y.
2002 – Larry Wink, Tully Senior High School, Tully, N.Y.
2003 – Tom Acee, Henninger High School, Syracuse, N.Y.
2006 – Chris Kenneally, Fayetteville Manlius High School, Fayetteville, N.Y.