2013 Hall of Fame Class


Congratulations to the following six individuals who were inducted into the Potomac Chapter Lacrosse Hall of Fame on Saturday, February 2, 2013 at the University Club in Washington, DC.

Jean Counts - Girl’s lacrosse coach at Oakton High School since 1998. Her teams have numerous district, region and Virginia state titles. Named Northern Region Coach of the Year and All-Met Coach of the year in 2004.

Jon FitzGerald - Head varsity boy’s lacrosse coach at WT Woodson High School for 25 years. Won 12 district championships, 4 northern region championships, and 3 VA AAA state championships. He was an All American lacrosse player for Division III SUNY Cortland.

Laurie Podmilsak - former player and then girl’s lacrosse coach at Oakton High School. Played collegiately at James Madison University, was the first women's lacrosse coach at Howard University and started the first girl’s club lacrosse team in the area. Currently living and coaching girl’s club lacrosse in Utah

Malcolm Lester - Head boy’s lacrosse coach at St Albans School for 20 years. Washington Post and US Lacrosse coach of the year in 2007. Founder and long time director of Capital Hill Lacrosse, a program that brings the game to children ages 5 to 12. Currently the headmaster at the Grace Episcopal Day School.

Anna Yates McDermott - All-Met player at St Stephen’s/St Agnes School. All-American at the University of Virginia where she her team won the National Championship in 1993. Currently teaching and coaching at Episcopal Academy in Pennsylvania.

Rick Sowell - All American during his playing days at Washington College. He is the current men's lacrosse coach at the U.S. Naval Academy. Named Coach of the Year in both the Ivy League while at Dartmouth and the America East while at Stony Brook. Assistant coach for the US Men's National team at the 2010 World Games.