2014 Hall of Fame Ceremony

Photography by Mary Alice

Click on thumbnails to open larger version in a new tab for saving/printing.

2014 North Carolina Chapter of US Lacrosse Hall of Fame Inductees

The North Carolina Lacrosse Community is honoring seven outstanding contributors to our sport with their induction to the chapter 2014 Hall of Fame class.


A Truly Great Coach – Dr. James F. Kirkley – Durham, NC

He has won 4 NCHSLA 4A state championships while the head coach at Riverside HS. As commissioner he also headed the NC High School Lacrosse Association until the NCHSAA recognized the sport and sanctioned lacrosse. Under his leadership there was a seamless transition from the NCHSLA to the NCHSAA for boys’ lacrosse. Jim has coached a number of high school all-Americans and several of his players went on to notable collegiate careers on the D1, 2 and 3 levels.

A Truly Great Coach - Dr. Charlie E. Patch – Surf City, NC

Head lacrosse coach at NC State University from 1973 – 1978. He developed the program in 1973 as NC State University joined the ranks of other established varsity lacrosse programs in the South Atlantic League and then the Atlantic Coast Conference. As an instructor in Physical Education at NCSU he molded the team into a national contender in only 6 years. Many of his players are involved in lacrosse leadership on local, national and international levels. Charlie was one of only three coaches in the country to be nationally nominated for 1978 Lacrosse Coach of the Year.

A Truly Great Coach – Ms. Jenny Levy – Chapel Hill, NC

Long one of the most accomplished active head coaches in NCAA women's lacrosse, Jenny assured her place in the sport's history books by leading the Tar Heels to the 2013 NCAA championship. The sixth-winningest coach in NCAA Division I women's lacrosse history and the fourth-winningest active coach in the nation, Levy has led the Tar Heels to seven appearances in the NCAA Tournament semifinals, including four in the last five years. 

A Truly Great Coach – Mr. Mark R. Goldsmith – Jamestown, NC

Coach Goldsmith has been involved in the game of lacrosse as a player, coach and official for 45 years. In 1989 Coach Goldsmith moved to Greensboro, NC to become the Head Men’s Lacrosse and Soccer Coach at Guilford College. Both of Coach Goldsmith’s teams experienced success both on the field and in the classroom. In 1991, while coaching at Guilford, Coach Goldsmith founded the Triad Youth Lacrosse Association which today is known as the center of recreation lacrosse in the Triad. At Southeast HS in 2000 he led the Falcons to the State Championship. In the 2008-09 school year Coach Goldsmith left Southeast for Northwest Guilford and won the State Championship in 2011. His second State Championship made him the only lacrosse coach in state history to win a State Championship at more than one school. Many of his players have gone on to play both college club and Varsity lacrosse. And, many of his former players are now coaching and/or officiating lacrosse. Coach Goldsmith is also an NCAA and MLL lacrosse official.

A Truly Great Player – Mr. Larry C. Rice – Raleigh, NC –

Graduated from NC State University in the spring of 1977. First NC State lacrosse player to receive recognition for his play - selected as a midfielder on the 1976 All South Atlantic League team, a precursor to the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC). His senior season he was selected as a team captain by his teammates. He was selected to the 1977 All South Atlantic League team as well as to the 1977 All Atlantic Coast Conference team, again as a midfielder. He was the first native North Carolinian All ACC lacrosse player.

A Truly Great Contributor – Mr. Edmund “Beau” McCaffray – Wilmington, NC

Started the NC Chapter of the Lacrosse Foundation, Inc. (ancestor of US Lacrosse) in 1987 in Winston-Salem, NC. He served as the first president of the NC Chapter of US Lacrosse as well as on the Board of Directors for The Lacrosse Foundation, Inc. Beau used Baltimore's Harlem Park Jr. High School program as a model for "motivational lacrosse" (which evolved into USL's BRIDGE Program) in Wilmington middle schools, starting with Williston Middle School in 1990. After 16 years and a variety of grants and other support (much of which came from US Lacrosse) both boys' and girls' lacrosse were adopted as a school sport in every middle and high school in the New Hanover County public schools. 

A Truly Great Contributor – Mr. Steve Stenersen – Baltimore, MD

President and CEO of US Lacrosse. As such, he serves as the chief staff executive and reports to the organization's national Board of Directors, which sets organizational policy and strategic direction. Steve is also the chief staff executive for the US Lacrosse Foundation, an independent non-profit organization governed by a Board of Directors, the mission of which is to provide greater financial resources to support US Lacrosse operations. Prior to his current position, Steve served as Executive Director of the Lacrosse Foundation from 1984 until the organization merged with seven other national bodies to form US Lacrosse. A native of Baltimore, Steve began playing lacrosse at St. Paul's School before attending the University of North Carolina, where he received his undergraduate degree in journalism. He was a member of two national championship teams at UNC in 1981 and 1982. Steve completed his playing career at the Mt. Washington Club in 1990

Induction Date / Time: June 21, 2014 

11:30 AM – 2:30 PM – Lunch and Induction Ceremony

$35 / person (on-line purchase only – by June )

Attire: Business Formal

Location: NC State University Faculty Club

4200 Hillsborough Street

Raleigh, NC

Nominate Someone for the NC Hall of Fame

The chapter is accepting nominations for deserving individuals or teams to be enshrined in the NC Lacrosse Hall of Fame.  The nomination and induction timeline procedures and candidate qualifications are described on the Nomination page.

The 2014 deadline is approaching quickly! Forms are due March 31, 2014. For information about nominating a candidate for the North Carolina Chapter Hall of Fame, click here