National Sponsors


History of the North Carolina Chapter

The NC Chapter of USL began as the NC Lacrosse Foundation in December of 1987, more than 10 years before the creation of U.S. Lacrosse, Inc.!  
The NC Lacrosse Foundation was born in Winston-Salem, with its inaugural banquet held at Wake Forest University's Reynolda Hall in November of 1987. Special guests Steve Stenersen (then Executive Director of the Lacrosse Foundation, Inc.) and Gene Corrigan (then ACC Commissioner) entertained the more than 70 attendees.
Founding members of the NC Lacrosse Foundation included: Sydney M. Cone, Jr., Jim Corrigan, Tony Cullen, Dave Klarmann, Edmund "Beau" McCaffray, Kevin O'Conner, Charlie Patch, Barbara Pedersen, Gene Reilly, Larry Rice, Don Thorup, III, Eben Tilly, Jr., Dave Wagner, and Duke Whelan.
Soon after the creation of U.S. Lacrosse, Inc. in 1998, the NC Lacrosse Foundation became the NC Chapter of U.S. Lacrosse.  
North Carolina lacrosse history test question:
There were a total of 7 NC high school boys' lacrosse teams in 1986.  Only two of these original 7 still compete; who are they?  
Extra Credit: Name the other 5 high school teams that no longer exist.